Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Classic 30 DIED!!!

Hi Everyone!
    Well, here's the deal...a couple weeks ago I was playing at church on my Classic 30. I left my amp sitting for a few minutes before the service started and when I got back to play, it didn't work anymore!!! I wasn't sure what was going on because the the power/pilot light was still on but nothing was coming out. I checked the tubes and none of them were lit up so I knew it wasn't a quick fix.

I was finally able to check it, I found that the P.T. and all the tubes were not heating up in the slightest. I found this odd because they're normally pretty hot!
    I checked the fuses and they all still had continuity so I'm assuming they're fine. I checked power going into the P.T. and it read about 117 volts (normal), but when I checked the other side of the P.T. at the fuses, I was only able to get a 3-5ma reading on one of the wire sets. My thought is that the P.T. is blown, but I'm no expert which has led me here...to ask some experts.

Anyway, I would really appreciate any input you guys have...

Thanks for the help!
    Last edited by greentexasbandit; 02-09-2010, 04:32 AM.

Originally posted by greentexasbandit View Post
    I'm just at a loss right now as to what comes next.
    a trip to your tech. Those c30s are a dog to work on
    Building a better world (one tube amp at a time)

"I have never had to invoke a formula to fight oscillation in a guitar amp."- Enzo

Comment

Did you actually REMOVE each fuse and measure it with an ohm meter while it was out of its clip? Your 10A heater fuse will seem to measure OK while it sits in its clip. Otherwise, we might check those couple 3w resistors in the heater string.
      Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

hi

Look at the wire between the two cards (near the power capacitors) in your classic 30. they would be broken ...

Regards
        Denis

Comment