Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marshall AVT100

Dear Everyone,

A friend of mind gave me a Marshall AVT100 guitar amp and asked me to help him fix it. The power supply was OK, but no sound. I connected the "line out" to another amp and it works fine, so I replaced the 15 pin power output IC (TDA7293) and it works. But there were 2 problems.

1) When I plugged in the cooling fan connector, the fan works but the sound becomes distorted and slowly fades away (no sound).

2) On the "Clean" channel, when I turn on the "gain' and "volume" with the bass, mid and treble completely turned off, there is no sound. Only when I turn on the tone controls (Bass, treble, mid) then there is sound. Normally I guess when you turn on just the volume and gain control, there should be sound totally independent of the tone controls.

I replaced both the +15 and -15 voltage regulators, but no change. As I am new to this amp, can someone kindly advice or provide me some hints on what could have gone wrong.

Thank you

Carlosraj

First things first, assumption number two is completely unfounded.

Now the actual problem. You're saying that the amp fades out when the fan is plugged in? I don't have a schematic to hand, but you've got the amp there. Which voltage supply is going away with the fan plugged in?
    My rants, products, services and incoherent babblings on my blog.

Comment

Marshall AVT199

Dear Ronsonic,