Another Crate SMPS issue (V100H)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another Crate SMPS issue (V100H)

Long time lurker, first time poster. I'm the proud owner of one of those Chinese Crate amps with the SMPS that likes to die (100 watt head). I humbly bow before you to ask for suggestions...on where to proceed; I realize the best suggestion may be to bash it mercilessly Office Space style.

A little background:
    I'm very new to tearing apart amplifiers, and electronics in general, but I'm a good student. If fact, I bought this piece of machinery to teach myself how to do this stuff, only paid forty bucks for it too. I had no idea what a switching power supply was when I bought it, and given the complexity thus far, I would have bypassed it had I known. The kid said he took it to a tech, and it needed fuses and new power tubes. Wrong. I tested the fuses as soon as I got it home, they were fine. I should have known then that I was in for the long haul, but I proceeded to track down schematics, test components on the main board, and generally struggle, although I learned quite a bit in the process. Essentially, the thing powered up and lit all the tubes, but wouldn't make a sound, not even a hiss. After a couple of months, I decided that I was beyond my skill level and took it to a local tech. $80 and a couple transistors and a flameproof resistor later, I had an amp that still didn't make a sound. The tech wasn't sure what was going on, and I decided I would take another stab at fixing this thing myself, having done some more research.