Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Blues Junior power transformer smoking - can it be rewound ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blues Junior power transformer smoking - can it be rewound ?

H, bought the amp from ebay this month - plays nicely - but as soon as it gets anywhere near middle volume - smoke / smell comes out of power transformer. If played 'not so loud' there is no smoke. It is a 'green board amp' and not sure if this ads up but I was told by prev owner that the amp is 5 years old.

Now looks like the UK spec transformer is about $160 so I now am not so happy.. I found the US verison for $40 ish - but the voltage wont fit

I have no valve experience but I have wound my own transformers in the past, I wonder if anyone has done it for this one? I mean how many turns, what wire, is it possible to keep the primary and heater coils etc, or should I just measure the voltage and hope to reproduce it.

also considering that the amp still plays beautifully - should I be looking for any other problem (bias too hot?) that may be causing this ?

First of all, you have to determine what is pulling current to make the transformer "smoke".
    If this is not done correctly, a new transformer will also smoke.
    As this appears to be a fire waiting to happen , I would kindly suggest taking it to a good tech.

Comment

Are you sure it's the power transformer smoking? It seems like the volume might not matter too much as far as the power transformer is concerned. If your tubes are going into runaway, however, it can cause all kinds of things to smoke, including traces on the circuit board.

Comment