Gallien Krueger GMT 600B amp

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gallien Krueger GMT 600B amp

Hi folks. I've got a G-K GMT 600B bass amp here, an old one, that belongs to a friend of mine. It went up in smoke a number of years ago and I agreed that I would try and get it up and running for him. Here's some pics of the PS board.

It's possible I may have the information on a schematic I located for the power amp.

I'm a solid state noob, completely, but it appears to me that a good start here would be to validate all the intact stuff, replace the 'lytics, and replace the burnt stuff. Just to get a baseline of known good parts.

the rest of the amp looks ok-the preamp board's fine. I've got to power it up and take some preliminary voltage measurements too.

Anyone with any experience on these things is welcome to comment, offer schematics and/or service information, kibitz, observe, yawn or pity me.

My friend's emotionally attached to this amp, and if I get it running the prize is a quad reverb.

Email GK, I remember that they are happy to send schematics. Maybe not this week though.
    My band:- http://www.youtube.com/user/RedwingBand

Comment

To tell the truth, I got to looking at the 600B power section schematic I found on the net and it actually is the schematic for the board I have plus the power transistors. I am in the process of making a large scale road map because (wouldn't you know it) the components aren't numbered and a couple are crisped. Once I get the board rebuilt then maybe I can start to figure out what went wrong with it in the first place.

I've got a request in to G-K for service information so we'll see what's up next week.

So fellows, email me if you need a copy.

Comment