Crate Blue VooDoo 6212 Problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crate Blue VooDoo 6212 Problems

As the title says i have a Crate Blue VooDoo 6212 60 watt Amp and I'm having problems. This is my first tube amp. I bought it used, the owner said it needed tubes.
    So I replaced the 2 Power tubes(EL34) and 4 preamp tubes(12AX7) Groove Tubes. The Store didn't have the 12AU7 so i didn't replace that one.

I turned the power on and let it sit for like 20 mins,I smelt a funny smell when letting it sit after powering it up( I thought it might have been the tubes being New, im a total NEWB).
    Then I flipped the standby and let it sit for like 5 mins. I played my guitar and i had sound, for like 10 mins, then it went silent. I looked at the back and the power tubes were not lit up any more. I'm not sure about the preamp tubes because it had the metal caps on. But the power and stand by switches are lit and the channel lite on the front of amp and foot switch is lit. I checked the fuse in the back of amp and it is fine. There was a crackle noise from the input jack and the Clean volume pot. The Clean Volume Pot when turned half way up had a steady HUUUUUUM.

I'm not sure what the problem is or could be. Any help would be appreciated.

It sounds like you have a fault in the filament circuit. If that amp uses DC preamp filaments and AC power tube filaments it could be as bad as a power transformer. But it's probably just a circuit. The fact that there is hum when you turn up the preamp is very bad. Because you have no power coming from the power tubes (they're not lit) it can't be an audio hum. This means it's a mechanical hum, and that's very bad. You should not power the amp up again and a qualified tech should look at it.
    "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo

"Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas