Crate BFX100 - Turns on, but no output

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crate BFX100 - Turns on, but no output

Hello there. I'm new to the forums here, but I studied electrical engineering in school (if that means anything) and I'm not scared to get my hands dirty.

I have a Crate BFX100 that turns on but doesn't output sound. I've sent this thing in twice before, years ago, to have it repaired for similar problems. This time I'm trying to take it on myself. I believe that before the audio techs said the problem was a bad capacitor.

I found another thread on this forum that linked to a schematic: http://music-electronics-forum.com/a...ratebfx100.zip

Any suggestions on where to start? What I should be measuring/testing?

I'll try attaching a picture, thanks for the help people.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3083.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	2.71 MB
ID:	865521

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3088.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	2.74 MB
ID:	865522

Originally posted by Hokie View Post
    I have a Crate BFX100 that turns on but doesn't output sound. I've sent this thing in twice before, years ago, to have it repaired for similar problems. This time I'm trying to take it on myself. I believe that before the audio techs said the problem was a bad capacitor.
    Welcome to the place. Whenever you start to work on an amp, it is best to try and isolate the problem area. The best way to do this is to start checking things to see what is and isn't working.

You say that the amp powers up, but will not pass a signal. This at least shows you that the basic power circuit is probably working.

If there is no sound, the first thing to check are the speakers. If there is background hiss coming from the speakers then they are probably ok. Listen to the hiss and background noise, does turning any of the controls change the noise character?