Help Troubleshooting 60's Deluxe Reverb AB163 Amp

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Troubleshooting 60's Deluxe Reverb AB163 Amp

I am a hobby amp builder, but not an amp tech. I have a friend with an old Fender DR AB163 circuit with an intermitant problem that I have never run into in my limited experience. The problem is intermitant noise or static (almost sounds like a bad shorting jack but it makes the sound regardless of whether a guitar is plugged in or not) and sometimes sounds like static on an AM radio. The sound varies in intensity rushing louder and then stops. Later to return. I found it will occur more often when switching on standby after the preamp filters are fully drained of voltage.

Here is what I have done and some observations:
    1. Checked all B+ voltages (pin 1 & 6 of preamp section, pins 1 & 6 of PI and pins 3 & 6 of the PT) and the bias voltage. B+1 was 415 vdc and the rest were all relatively in line with schematic. Bias voltage checked out too.
    2. After replicating the problem; I pulled all the preamp tubes one at a time; but the noise continued
    3. However it stopped when I pulled the PI tube.
    4. Replaced PI tube; but the noise continued.
    5. Inspected electrolytics. They had all been recapped before my friend purchased the amp; they appear to be in good shape.
    6. Checked the amp's circuit board and other grounds, they appear to be solid, but I have not pulled the board to inspect the underside and someone in the past has replaced some resisters.
    7. The non-electrolytic caps in the amp are all original.
    8. I can make the problem worse by flipping the standby swtich off and back on. Also, when turning off standby the amp sometimes will make a "pop" sound & when it does, I usually can get the problem to re-occur, even when the preamp electrolytics are charged, by flipping the switch back on.

When the problem is not present, the amp plays like it should and frankly sounds awesome.