Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What Brand or Type of valve would you use for a Bass

Hi all

Ive been using valve amps for my bass now for over 10 yrs. When i change the power tubes from brand to brand. I dont here any change in the tone. I use British built amps so its always EL34. When i buy a new set its normally JJ's or Electro harmonixs. Having playing music since i was 15yrs old and now 48 ( On sunday). My ears have see better days. I use a Carlsbro PA100 head at present with a set Electro harnonixs in. I forget the biasing but i do remember doing it on the cold side
    I play 60s/70s music so i do like that over driven sound/tone. Fender P and Jazz basses though the carlsbro and a 2x10" cabinet. Want a 15" cabinet to join the 2 x 10"
    but until i move. i aint carrying another cabinet down two fights of stairs

The Question is What Brand and Type of Valves would you use for bass.

Blind boy Benton

PS Happy Easter to you all in the uk and if you have a national holiday where you live. Enjoy your long weekend
    Last edited by blindboybenton; 03-29-2013, 11:28 AM. Reason: spelling

Happy Easter to you too, BBB.
    My opinion on output valves is that they should not color your sound.
    Unless they are bad.

Comment

Happy easter to you Jazz P bass

Do you use a valve amp for your bass? Im fairly happy with the sound, My band members said at last gig that they liked it, This is after a full re valve and recap. But im always open to change, Thoses electro harmonix can soon be used elsewhere for a trial of something else. Being a big fan of Andy Fraser from Free playing that Gibson EB3 play though Marshalls
      the sound he got is to die for

BBB

Comment