Problem with my Sunn 2000S

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with my Sunn 2000S

I bought recently a 1972 Sunn 2000S and I played for about 45 minutes cranked up and it started to do weird sounds. (wind and pop and cracking) I touch both transformer, One was normal temperature and the other was Hot (like putting my hand more then 10 seconds and it will burn a lot)

I Started playing with the head for about 30 seconds and the sound just drop for about 70-80% and never got higher then that since.

I know the tubes are old (Black/silver stain on the tubes)

Could someone tell me what is going on. Thank you very much!

I would recommend changing those power tubes out would be a good place to start as those symptoms sound like bad tubes. There is also either a 7199 or 6AN8 which is a Pentode/triode in one tube and it could also be the problem. The replacements you'll find for those are usually Sovteks which are the cheapest type and can be a little noisier than say a NOS tube. The Sovteks are about $12 and the NOS can go anywhere from $30 up but may be worth the expense if you plan on keeping it for awhile. Try the two power tubes first though.
    KB

Comment

Could someone tell me what is going on. Thank you very much![/QUOTE]

burned up screen grid resistors on output tube socket, or
      burned sockets on output tubes
      have a tech check all this out before installing new tubes.
      re-bias new tubes before using amp.
      caution high voltage inside.

Comment

Would it be possible to try the amp only with the inside pair of power tubes, and then with the outside pair, just to see if it's the power tubes or screen grid resistor before spending the money on this. Thanks (I'm a friend of the original poster)

Comment

Well, you will have to determine if the problem is the tubes, or damage they did to the amp, or both, or none of the above. Might not be as simple as removong half the tubes.