Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ampeg B15 woes.... no sound from guitar

Hi Guys,
    i am new to the this thread and so let me say that i have some experience with tube amps.......i am working on an Ampeg B15 Flipover bass amp. there is no guitar sound when it is connected. there is a quiet hum, however. i checked the preamp by using the EXT. Amp socket into another amp and that works fine. So, the problem is the power amp side. I have replaced all the caps except the three in one 40Mfd one and also all the tubes. i have an ESR meter that checks out the three in one capacitor and have gone through all the resistors etc without success. Any bright clever thoughts? Could it be the PT? [please say no] laurie

Isn't the EXT for a speaker extension cab?
    Maybe you jhave a blown speaker..
    Did you check the speaker?

Comment

The wirring on the jack may be screwy, also.
      In troubleshooting a problem such as this, I look at the power tube grids.
      If they are getting a nice large Vac signal & the tubes are known to be good, that leaves the output transformer & speaker circuit as suspect.

Comment

If this is the 60/70s B15 with speaker connection XLR, not one of the modern reissues?

The speaker connection is via a 4 pin XLR. Pins 2 & 3 (green wire and white wire) have to be shorted to make the amp work.
        This arrangement disconnects one of the cathodes of the phase inverter to prevent the power stage from being driven with no speaker connected. If you undo the two large chrome screws holding the chassis to its tray, there should be a schematic there which will tell you more.

If you do not have this connection made you will get a slight hum and the pre-amp output will still work.

I'm not saying that this is definitely your problem, but the symptoms do seem to fit.