Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Output transformer issue

Hi

I did post this yesterday, I think the title is not getting the interest. so ive posted another

Im new to valve guitar amp repair., but not new to electronics. Have decided that i would like to learn. I am aware of the high voltages I do have some test equipment inc a scope and a sig gen
    I have been given a old british carlsbro cs40-60 mk1 with valve rectifier to learn on. The amp had been gutted to be rewired and never done
    Ive started to rebuild and i have come to a stop point. Unable to find a schematic online. not for this model with the valve rectifier
    The output tx primary has 2 x red wires soldered together ( ct ??)
    and 2 white wires and 1 brown and 1 blue
    Multi meter on the reds
    white wire = 20ohm
    white wire = 47ohm
    Blue wire = 41ohm
    Brown = 18ohm
    If i disconnect the reds and measure interdependently one red is connected to the 2 whites and the other red is connected to brown and blue
    with the same resistance than above. All the wires look like they have been soldered on to something. This amp was working before my friend gutted it
    The secondary has 3 wires Ground/4ohm/8ohm

All the schematics i look at have 3 wires for the primary?? Right

can anyone help

A good course of action is to feed a test signal into the secondary and then map out what appears on the primary; polarity (with in respect to the input signal) and voltage, between all points
    After a while, in conjunction with the resistance measurements, it will become clear how the winding is arranged.
    It may be simpler to separate the connection between the 'reds' and approach it as 2 independent windings.
    It may be an ultra linear type transformer; there may be some marker / trace to differentiate the 2 white wires. Examine them very closely, the marking may have faded.
    See p4 http://www.mif.pg.gda.pl/homepages/f...k/KT66_GEC.pdf
    Pete