Crate VTX212 Loud Hum Whe Instrument Plugged In

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crate VTX212 Loud Hum Whe Instrument Plugged In

Hello everybody! -I just goofed again. I bought a Crate VTX212 from a pawn shop to give my son for Christmas and although cosmetically it's in great shape, when you plug a guitar into it the thing makes a terrible hum- not effected by any controls or switching channels- goes away when you unplug the cord.

(I'm a retired car mechanic and my electronics expertise doesn't get much further than basic multimeter testing, soldering, etc...)

-I also bought him a Behringer 212 amp off Craigslist that didn't work either- my luck has to change one of these days!

Anyway, could somebody please shoot me any ideas where to start looking for what might be the problem with this Crate. I really like the looks of this old thing, have always had pretty good experiences with Crate stuff before- and it seems to work pretty well except for this hum!

Grr! Thanks in advance,

Groucho63

Stop turning it on and immediately remove the speakers. At this point that low level hum could be an indication that there is DC voltage output of the amp. Use a multimeter, dc volts setting, to check the speaker terminal lead. Report back if we have DC voltages and don't connect a speaker up to the amp until we know that there is no DC voltage on the output. The DC will fry a speaker(s).
    When the going gets weird... The weird turn pro!

Comment

Originally posted by DrGonz78 View Post
      Stop turning it on and immediately remove the speakers. At this point that low level hum could be an indication that there is DC voltage output of the amp. Use a multimeter, dc volts setting, to check the speaker terminal lead. Report back if we have DC voltages and don't connect a speaker up to the amp until we know that there is no DC voltage on the output. The DC will fry a speaker(s).