Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 73 Vibro Champ : No Sound

Hello kind people,
    I have a 1973 Vibro Champ on my bench tonight. No sound was the complaint. Tubes light up.
    I look around and first off, see an 8 ohm speaker hooked up. OT on the VC is supposed to see 3.2 ohms.
    I tested all tubes in my tube tester, seem to work as they should. I then took some simple ohm load measurements
    on OT as I suspect it may be a problem with 8 ohm speaker hooked up.

I am still learning here, more on every amp I touch, so your patience is appreciated.

I see a pair of blue and red wires going into one side of transformer. I believe this is the input side.
    I measure 289 ohms. I see a pair of black & yellow wires coming out of the OT going to
    the speaker. I get 0.3 ohms across these windings. With my continuity beeper setting on
    my DMM, it does beep across the black & yellow wires.

This is a link to a replacement transformer from Classictone with some specs:
    http://www.classictone.net/40-18030.pdf

I have little experience with output transformers. Does this original '73 OT appear to be suspect? Thanks, Keith

The 8 ohm speaker there will do absolutely no harm and would not cause a loss of sound. Assuming it is a good speaker. No the transformer does not sound suspect. Transformers are the lowest things on the list. 3.2 ohms is the impedance, not the resistance. A OT secondary will always have a very low DC resistance.

If BOTH heaters are glowing in the small tubes and the one in the power tube, then we want to know all voltages are present. Is there high voltage on all the tube plates?
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment