Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• api mic pre amp - low gain fault

Hi there

I have an early api 3124 - four channel mic pre amp and one of the channels is much, much lower than the other three.
    The faulty channel still works but is lacking around 20db in signal than any of the other three channels when fed with the same source.
    And this is the same whether fed from the Unbalanced Jack Di socket on the front of the unit or from the XLR Balanced Mic input on the rear.

Anyone have any ideas what may be causing this or suggestions of how to identify the fault.

I have to point out that I am not an electronic engineer - I can't read a circuit diagram/schematic and am totally foxed by anything beyond suggestions such as 'replace the IC' or 'Change C13'.
    I'd also need to be told the values of the new components to order and hopefully a good UK source.

That said, I have managed to perform quite complex mods on valve amplifiers, FX pedals and even built whole FX pedals (from kits) without electrocuting myself or burning my home down.

Any suggestions or advice gratefully received.

I'd open up that preamp & see if any "repairs or modifications" had been previously made. Possibly some tech swapped in the wrong gain pot years ago, or wired in an input pad.
    This isn't the future I signed up for.

Comment

Originally posted by Leo_Gnardo View Post
      I'd open up that preamp & see if any "repairs or modifications" had been previously made. Possibly some tech swapped in the wrong gain pot years ago, or wired in an input pad.
      The unit has an Input Pad of it's own on each channel that is far more radical than the difference between the suspect channel and the other three.
      But it could be a pot value discrepancy.

I will open it up and check though I bought this from a close, trusted friend who had this in his high level studio and had owned it from new.