Solid state Fender Yale Reverb

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Solid state Fender Yale Reverb

Recently, I was asked by a friend to try and repair a solid-state Fender Yale Reverb (I'm NOT experienced in solid state gear, but I decided this was a chance to learn). The problem, as stated, was that the amp was turned on, blew a fuse, smoked a little. I took out the chassis and put it on a dim bulb tester. Indeed it did smoke, and I suspected that the filter caps had failed. I should mention that I couldn't isolate the smoking component yet, and that the amp motor-boated before I replaced the components I mentioned above when I initially lit it up with the dim bulb, but not nearly as loudly. I've replaced the filter caps, as well as some potentiometers that were broken. Upon turning on the amp, now, with a dim bulb tester, the amp is motor-boating loudly, with the dim bulb brightly lit and the bulb brightness pulsates in rhythm with the the motor-boating. Where do I go from here? Thanks in advance!

My first suspects would be the power amp. Is it a power amp IC in this model?
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

Hi Enzo,

No, these appear to be power transistors - RCA TIP30B, RCA TIP29B. Does this sound right? Four of them are set in heat sinks and apparently have a bias trimpot? two other are located away from these, not heat sunk.

Comment

Does this schematic look right? It shows the outputs as TO3 style transistors. Maybe mounted on the back of the chassis under plastic isolators? Or maybe it's the wrong schematic.

https://reader020.staticloud.net/rea...a2a762/bg1.png

Do you measure any DC at the output?
        "I took a photo of my ohm meter... It didn't help." Enzo 8/20/22

Comment

The TIP29/30 types appear to be drivers. Are there not two larger transistors perhaps bolted right to the chassis. TO3 types - the ones shaped like a cowboy hat.