Marshall squeals like a pig

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marshall squeals like a pig

Hey there, newbie here and need some help. My Marshall TSL 60 head is squealing like a pig at high volumes on all three channels and is even worse when using the effects loop and a processor. When I begin to play it sounds ok but even the slightest movement on the strings when muting will send shivers down your back. Am I correct in saying Microphonic Feedback?

I changed all the valves last night and it is still doing it. One thing I noticed, the preamp tubes didn't glow like before but the crunch and lead channel still sounded right.

Any info would be great. I have a gig Saturday night and I think I'll be using a friends amp but need to know what's going on.

Thanks,
    Monkeyfart

Have you tried a different guitar? You may simply have microphonic pickups. They could be replaced or wax potted. Is it worse when you stand closer to the amp? You could also have a preamp tube gone microphonic especially if they are still the stock tubes. Preamp tubes are cheap and require no adjustments to replace. You can take a pencil and tap each tube starting with V1 to try to isolate which tube(s) are microphonic or you can simply buy a couple and sequencially swap them out. There is also the possibility that you are oversaturating the preamp with the master volume turned down. There is no fix for that except learning how to set up your amp. This usually happens a lot when someone wants to play with a lot of gain at low volume through an amp much to large for what they are doing. If you have your master set on 2 and the preamps cranked that may be your problem. The solution to that situation is to get a smaller amp.

Comment

I've tried other guitars and ran my main guitar through another similar amp. No problem. I changed all the tubes last night but didnt' have time to set the bias before practice started. I will do that tonight when I get home.