X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blues Jr intermittent power

Hey,
    First time posting here!

I have a friends blues junior that I told him I would troubleshoot before taking it to a tech. I have some experience working/building amps, but don’t have any scope or anything like that.

90% of the time the amp works fine, but occasionally when you power the amp the pilot light will flicker and go out. There is no power to the tubes when this happens. You can flip it on and off for a while with no luck, and eventually the power will come back.

I have checked the power switch and it’s obviously not the fuses or tubes. What else could be going on here? Could it be a bad ground somewhere?
    Thanks!

I'd check the AC cable. Could be the molded plug or the cable near it going bad intermittently. Less likely, the cable closer to the amp. Those parts of the cable take the most flexing and occasionally break down.
    This isn't the future I signed up for.

Comment

Originally posted by Leo_Gnardo View Post
      I'd check the AC cable. Could be the molded plug or the cable near it going bad intermittently. Less likely, the cable closer to the amp. Those parts of the cable take the most flexing and occasionally break down.
      Good thought!! Unfortunately when the amp is not lighting up there is still power at the switch on the amp. It is also passes power fine. I think it’s something further down the line...

Comment

Blues Juniors have lots of spade terminations. Check the wire ends that are crimped into the spades and the spades that are soldered to the pc board. Check for bad connections and measure the resistance with the amplifier unplugged between the transformer primary tappings.
        Work your way back towards the IEC socket looking for a break in the circuit.
        Support for Fender, Laney, Marshall, Mesa, VOX and many more. https://jonsnell.co.uk
        If you can't fix it, I probably can.

Comment

Originally posted by Jon Snell View Post