Polytone Baby Taurus - Bad Hum and High Current

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Polytone Baby Taurus - Bad Hum and High Current

I acquired a Baby Taurus that has a loud hum and high current draw. The hum and current increase as I dial up the variac. This output section uses a MJ802 and MJ4502.

I removed the power amp section to discover some fried components in and around the MJ4502 transistor. The board states "PA 378 B"

I thought I had the proper schematic (see attached). But perhaps not as you will read.

In looking at some of the yellow caps and connections, I think someone has worked on this board in the past.

I have little experience working on solid state output issues and I hope to learn from this experience.

I could use some step by step help in diagnosing the bad components. How do I test the transistors in place? How do I test the power supply feeding this section? Etc.

Is the bridge rectifier missing from this board? I thought it might be on the underside but I only found another 470 uF 35V cap there. There are two 470 uF 35V that appear to be in series. One is top side, one is under side. I think this is C10 and C11, however the capacitance of 470 uF is far off from the schematic stating 4000 uF.

Maybe I have the wrong schematic? Schematic shows a Blue/Red/Blue AC connection feeding the bridge rectifier, but this amp has a Red/Blue/Black wiring group. More on this...
    • Red feeds the positive side of the 470uF 35V that is underside.
    • Black feeds the negative side of the 470uF 35V that is underside. (which is connected to the positive side 470uF 35V that is top side.
    • Blue feeds the negative side of the 470uF 35V that is top side.

Much thanks in advance! MC

Here are some pictures... I have not cleaned the burnt section yet, I will do that next with some alcohol.

No pictures showing.
    - Own Opinions Only -

Comment

Something went wrong, no schematics or pictures are shown.