Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Silverface Fender Bassman 100 - Checking Voltage Question?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Silverface Fender Bassman 100 - Checking Voltage Question?

I have a 70's Fender Bassman 100 head and am a complete novice working on amps. Today I was trying to check the voltage at one of the filter caps and forgot to connect a load to the speaker out and blew a fuse. i immediately heard a couple of clicks (transformer arcs?) and turned the amp off real quick. i connected my speaker and turned on the amp and heard clicks again thats when the fuse blew? the amp was working fine before. i dont have an extra fuse to see if i messed anything up. i know the no load thing is bad. just wondering if the way i was checking the voltage could have caused this. i had my multimeter set to dc voltage, the black lead connected to the amp chassis and the red lead to the + side of one of the filter caps. so whats the word on that? that shouldnt be a problem right? thanks

On a lot of valve amplifiers, touching a capacitive test probe onto the HT makes a minute spark that is seen by the amplifier as noise. This is amplified and if there is no load on the transformer can cause one or a number valves to arc or even the transformer can be damaged.
    Remove the output valves, fit a new HT fuse and see what happens when powering it back up.
    If all seems OK, one or both output valves have been damaged and must be replaced.
    If the fuse blows, possible transformer damage, which is very unlucky. Seek advice from a competent engineer.
    Support for Fender, Laney, Marshall, Mesa, VOX and many more. https://jonsnell.co.uk
    If you can't fix it, I probably can.

Comment