SWR SM 400 burned resistors on power amp

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SWR SM 400 burned resistors on power amp

I’m a new student to solid state amp repair. I picked up a used SWR SM 400 bass amp. Stereo output with 2 power amps. Right channel works great. Left channel was distorted with pops. Did the usual testing suspect components pulled out of circuit (diodes, transistors). Voltage coming into the power amp was correct and scoped a clean DC current. Replaced one transistor that was questionable with exact match. Sound did not improved so I tested the 4 power transistors (2sd555). All checked out ok diode test NPN. Just for hoots I got 4 new ones and swapped them in as they screw onto their mounting plates. Fired it up and it worked and sound great. For about a minute. Then it popped thru the speaker with smoke coming out the questionable power amp. When I pulled the power amp 2 resistors had burned up. They seem to feed the 4 power transistors. The power transistors are toast also. I’m at a loss how I should proceed at this point. I have attached pictures and the closest schematic I could find though mine is an earlier model than schematic date.
    Attached Files

Looks like the 100R resistors clamping the bases to the emiters have blown. I would check all semiconductors and replace where required, check the 0.1R resistors, replace the 100R resistors and 250mA fuses then purchase and fit MJ21194 output transistor purchase all spares from a reputable seller; Mouser, RS, Farnel etc NOT fleabay as 2SD555 have been obsolete for a very long time.
    Set the preset to maximum resistance before powering it up then set the quiescent current to produce an average of 2.5mV across each 0.1R resistor.

I would guess the most likely cause of failure was fleabay components. I could be wrong though and thermal runnaway could also destroy the output stage.
    Support for Fender, Laney, Marshall, Mesa, VOX and many more. https://jonsnell.co.uk