Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• White powder (mold? galvanic current?) on chassis outside surfaces

Hello everybody.
    I've been missing from this forum for a few years. Actually I haven't opened an amp in a long while.
    Back I am with a little query.
    The chassis outside surface in my SF Vibrolux Reverb - which I haven't used for a few years - is covered with a sort of greasy white powder. It's not just normal dust, it's more of a greasy powder that comes off with a vigorous rub.
    It is on every exposed surface - chassis, filter caps hood, and tube shields.
    It is not on other parts EXCEPT one single screw on a tube socket (see photo). Inside the chassis and beneath the filter caps hood the surface is clean and shiny.
    My home, as everywhere in the city, is relatively humid (I giess 60-80%) all year round. Yet this is the first time, and the first amp, with this issue, and I've owned amps for about 30 years.
    What could it be? Mold? Doesn't seem so really. Maybe the result of some sort of galvanic current?
    Anything that I should be worried of?
    Can I just wipe the powder off and use the amp as usual?
    Click image for larger version  Name:	Ampli muffa 2.jpg Views:	0 Size:	101.0 KB ID:	971365 Click image for larger version  Name:	Ampli muffa 3.jpg Views:	0 Size:	200.5 KB ID:	971366 Click image for larger version  Name:	Ampli muffa 1.jpg Views:	0 Size:	108.8 KB ID:	971367
    Carlo Pipitone

That's not unusual. It often shows on zinc plated steel and is called white rust.

The white powder is mainly zinc hydroxide as a result of zinc corrosion.

https://www.corrosionpedia.com/does-zinc-rust/7/7030

You may try to rub it off with some WD-40 on a cloth.

Interestingly it doesn't seem to develop with BF amps, which used a different plating.
    Last edited by Helmholtz; 10-22-2022, 02:45 PM.
    - Own Opinions Only -

Comment

Thank you Helmholtz.
      So it seems nothing I should worry about.
      Carlo Pipitone