70's Roland JC120 (CH1 Sawtooth)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 70's Roland JC120 (CH1 Sawtooth)

Good Morning all (who has interest). Love the forum and it (you badasses) has helped me a lot...help the musicians in my small town. I'm a tube hi-fi guy, but love to meet the community of musicians and help them when I can.

I found the below schematic, but SS is not a strong skill of mine...although I have been learning.

This Roland is in amazing condition, however has a saw tooth waveform on channel 1 with no input. Channel 2 and effect board is perfect (from what I can tell). I chased this wave form to E1 on the board which has a a small hunting DC voltage unlike channel-2. As an unskilled SS tech, I swapped output transistors to see if the problem swapped to channel 2 and it did not.

I also cannot locate the E1, C1, B1 pins in the schematic...making me think there is a page of the schematic I'm missing?!? Maybe I'm just not verse in all these Q's, haha!

Just a note, the channel 1 board does amplify a signal from the input, and the tone stack operates properly...just this sawtooth waveform, I haven't come across. Now, that I'm typing this I see a few zener diodes on the board that I can't spot in the schematic, so maybe there is a different schematic I need to find.

I'll be drawing out the output stage from examples I can find to refresh myself in collectors, bases, and emitters.

Thanks in advance for reading...and I really appreciate any thoughts, this helps organize my thoughts and track my journey.

Cheers!
    Attached Files

2000 words

Comment

Originally posted by dubulup View Post
      Now, that I'm typing this I see a few zener diodes on the board that I can't spot in the schematic, so maybe there is a different schematic I need to find.
      What is the Serial # ?
      Originally posted by Enzo
      I have a sign in my shop that says, "Never think up reasons not to check something."

Comment