Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blackstar HT Stage 60 / Need help on strange noise issue

Hello all

I have 2 issues on my amp (which might be related) on which my investigations lead to nothing so far...

Issue 1 : after using it for 5/10 min, a cracking noise appears in the speakers, getting loud enough sometimes that I have to turn the amp off. If I only put it on standby, the noise remains (but the guitar sound disappears).

Analysis:
    • I've changed the tubes, the issue remains
    • checked with a different speaker, the issue remains
    • It's a power stage issue : everything is good out of the loop send (no noise), but the crackling remains if I'm using another preamp plugged in the the loop send
    • I have some little experience with this amp, so I changed TR1 and TR2 (phase inverter FET)
    • I have redone the soldering on the power PCB (power tubes sockets)
    • No component seem obviously damaged, no obvious dry solder
    • The bias is OK (I have Blackstar's document for bias set-up), set to 50mV

Issue 2 : when I put the amp on standby during bias set-up, the bias stays at 50mV

According to Blackstar, voltage should drop to 0mV (described on their document, and confirmed by a Blackstar technician I contacted today).

Since when the crackling noise appears, it remains present even on Standby, I suspect there is a correlation between the 2 problems.

Does anyone has any idea why I still have current flowing even on stanby in the bias section? And could this undesired current be a cause for my cracklng noises problem?

Thanks a lot for your help, this is the only amp I have!

Fred

• It's a power stage issue : everything is good out of the loop send (no noise), but the crackling remains if I'm using another preamp plugged in the the loop send
    I meant, a another preamp plugged in the the loop return, obviously

Comment

Replace TR1 & TR2. Use only IRF830.