Acoustic 140 issue

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Acoustic 140 issue

Weird situation a bandmate has an acoustic 140 that he uses at practice and last practice it started cutting out and distorting so I offered to take a look. I am no expert but familiar with amp and pedal circuits. Anyway i dig into this and have isolated the issue to the power module. R311 was toasted. Replaced that amp sounded better but its still not right as i tested voltage across. That resistor and im getting 74v on both sides. Should be 75 on one side 40 on the other. So somewhere it appears this resistor is essentialy shorted but it measures fine. Any ideas? Thanks!!

If you have 75volts on both sides and the old one was overheated, I would suspect Q301 or Q302.
    This is the same circuit as the Tannoy 70 amplifier from the early 60's.
    Support for Fender, Laney, Marshall, Mesa, VOX and many more. https://jonsnell.co.uk
    If you can't fix it, I probably can.

Comment

Thanks. I shall replace both. Other thing i notice is that one of the thermistors reads like 20 ohm instead of 100 i doubt that is the problem but i might as well replace that too only ones i can find are 1/2 watt i think the originals were 1 watt i think. They run in parallel w 6.8k so i suspect they wont get too thrashed and will work fine

Comment

Ok all the transistors are in order swapped out the bad thermistor and amp sounded pretty distorted. R311 was getting hot and
        R312 and 313 were hot enough for me to shut it all down… it was uncomfortably hot. Somebody is corrupt so I guess its time to go door to door with my investigation and interrogate every resistor and cap or maybe its not the right thermistor

Comment

Why did you replace those transistors and if they were faulty, not fix the cause of their failure?
          Transistors in a well designed circuit, don't fail without reason.