Bassman line out?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bassman line out?

Hello. New here on this forum. I did search but didn't come up with anything. I've got very little experience building amps. I built a small 8 watt per channel Stereo tube amp and I'm in the process of building a Fender Bassman 5f6-a.

I'd like to add a line out or even better a balanced line out. I've read a little bit about wiring some resistors at the output of the power stage
    But wouldn't this run the amp at an odd impedence and effect tone? I read this thread but had some trouble following it due to my lack of knowledge.

http://music-electronics-forum.com/s...light=line+out

I haven't decided on speakers yet, but the load will be either 2 or 4 ohm. The amp will have a switchable impedance, 2,4,8ohm and i would like the line out to work with all three. Also, wouldn't a balanced line out require another OT? Thanks in advance!

A line out is just a matter of voltage division. It should be set up to put out about 1 volt (close enough to .775 volts).

If you downloaded the chart from the post you attached then you know that your Bassman build @ 4 ohms will put out about 13 or 14 volts if it will be a two 6L6 power amp. So just figure a 13:1 ratio with 500 ohms as the denominator. You get 6500/500. Since 6.8k is a more common resistor value you could just use that. So a 6.8k dropping resistor and a 500 ohm load will give you just under a volt of output. To make it adjustable use a 4.7k resistor and a 500 ohm pot. That way when your playing super clean and below the amps max output you can turn up the line out to improve the noise floor. And when your cranking it for overdrive you can turn it down to avoid clipping sensitive inputs.

This extra 5.2k to 7.3k parallel load presented to the OT secondary is mice nuts compared to the 4 ohm speaker load. I promise that you will not even notice it's there and niether will your amp.