Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Blackfacing a SF Bandmaster. Zener diode for B+ drop?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blackfacing a SF Bandmaster. Zener diode for B+ drop?

I have a Silverfaced Bandmaster head that i'm going to be Black facing. Here are the schematics in question:

SF (.pdf):
    http://www.schematicheaven.com/fende...c568_schem.pdf

BF (.gif):
    http://www.ampwares.com/ffg/schem/ba...b763_schem.gif

Looks like i'll need to drop the B+ about 25V or so (based on the voltages before the rectifier). I haven't gotten in there to actually measure it yet though. I'm wondering what the best way is to go about this. If I were to use a Zener diode, what rating is typically safe for a SS rectified 2 x 6L6 amp?

Thanks in advance,

-Nick

Personally I wouldn't get hung up over 25v, if that is the actual voltage difference you are measuring (do this first)? Fenders rarely conform to the voltages listed on the schematic, they are nearly always higher, especially with regard to 50's & 60's amps.

That said, Torres Engineering has the Zener you need, try 50W 50v, $25.

Comment

A daft way to drop B+ is to add a tube rectifier I've done this before And it adds to the sound.

Comment

Mouser has them for about 15-18 bucks.I used the NTE5278AK which is a 56v 50watt.I paid less than $20.I connected it to the center tap and it dropped less than the stated 56 volts,its been a long time so I dont recall the exact drop I got,but I believe it was around 30v.

Comment

You can use three or four, 8v to 10v 5watt zener diodes in series.

8v @300ma = 2.5watts for each diode
          10v @300ma = 3 watts for each diode

They only cost around a dollar each.
          Bruce

Mission Amps
          Denver, CO. 80022
          www.missionamps.com
          303-955-2412

Comment

Originally posted by stokes View Post
            Mouser has them for about 15-18 bucks.I used the NTE5278AK which is a 56v 50watt.I paid less than $20.