Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• c30 tweed bassman mod. leak in normal channel

Good day,

its been years since the blueguitar mods, there were many other mods and tweaks after that. but until this day it has never failed to give life to the stock c30 new and old.
    i ve had the c30 for a decade now. many amps came and went during my upgraditis phase, but this is the only amp that stayed with me for sentimental reason. this year i thought since im gonna be stuck with this amp for the rest of my life, might as well mod it. this is only my 3rd amp to mod. im no electrical engineer whatsoever
    i did the following mods
    -fender input with 68k, i am still confuse which is right 68k or 33k, which is it and why?
    -tonestack upgrades with orange drop
    -boost switch with silvermica
    -tweed bassman cathode follower
    -cathode bias/adjustable bias switch by enzo

all these Steve Ahola (still cant thank you enough for your contribution) mods were done by so many others in the past. nothing new
    first thing i noticed is how open sounding the amp was even with the stock crap blue marvel. i cant wait to try the greenback on this.
    soft picking dynamics can be heard. it has the right amount of treble without being too overly bright like before e.g. strat chime and quack at position 2 and 4.
    i did these mods all at the same time, we all know how PITA to work on this 3pcb design, thats why i dont know which had the most effect. was it the fender input? the tonestack ? or the cathode bias?

i encountered minute problems, the first one is the tweed bassman channel, i cant seem to enjoy this at bedroom or house level. the 500k i put in v3 just jumps so bad, and it gets loud so fast too. ive got only a little taste of the cranked pre-knob when i braved the volume for a minute. either i ll open it up and try a 250k or 100k? or put a master volume? what would be the best?