Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SANO HI Fidelity Stereophonic 30W, help w/preamp mods

Hi,

Paul here, back again with a new project on an old amp of mine. I attached a schematic which I got off the web, looks pretty accurate except my SANO 30W doesn't have reverb and currently has 2 6CA7 output tubes.

I'm not an amp tech, but you all have helped me in the past repair my old Musicmaster Bass Amp and I did the repairs on my own. I used two of the Musicmaster Bass Amps with my band www.myspace.com/thepaulsigmonband one of the amps I had modified by Winfield Thomas, he did a nice job and I really like that amp!

OK, back to the SANO. I just replace the stock 15" UTAH speaker, it was blown... The AMP sounds really clean... in fact.. too clean. I like headroom, but this amp will blow your head off before it distorts. It was the same even before I replaced the speaker.

I love the weight of the amp, I'm a gigging musician and I really believe this amps has serious potential to be a little Tweed Super/Pro/VibroVerb type of clone... I think is almost there, but I'm not getting any of that tweed tone from the tonestack or inputs.

As the attached schematic shows, the amp has 3 inputs, Guitar, Instrument & Stereophonic. The amp has tremelo, but only on the sterophonic channel.

I'd appreciate anyone who might be available to look over the schematic for some possible suggestions for mods, in particular, I'd like to heat up the input and tonestack, perhaps tweed mods. I just don't know what to do and I've asked two techs for help, neither seemed interested in the project.

Thanks for your consideration. If any chance of someone drawing the mod suggestions on the Schematic, that would be the ultimate. I have a close friend who will help me with the electronics, he's a retired EE and loves to work on my amps; however, he specializes in old TVs and HAM radios and likes to use cheapo caps. So, I have to buy the better parts and guide him through the process.