Valveking 100 Mesa Mod

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Valveking 100 Mesa Mod

What does the Mesa mod do to the sound of an amp? From what I’ve read people use it with the preamp volume really low. Since I have a master volume, would it sound better since I can turn the preamp volume up?

How about you tell us what the "Mesa Mod" might be, and we can look.
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

Remove R122 (no jumper needed).
      Leave R124 in place (Don't touch it).
      R116 to 10k (Wattage don't matter here).(10K has more gain, 22K has less... tightness of tone depends on EQ and setup)

The tone stack cap & resistor are crutial to Mesa sound;
      C2 to 470pF
      R4 to 47k

Apparently the low gain channel sounds like a soldano and high gain like a mesa

Comment

I have a much more basic question. What's a Valveking and why would anybody want to mod one ? If there were two amps sitting side by side, could I tell which one has been modified ?
        WARNING! Musical Instrument amplifiers contain lethal voltages and can retain them even when unplugged. Refer service to qualified personnel.
        REMEMBER: Everybody knows that smokin' ain't allowed in school !

Comment

Valve KIng is a popular Peavey amp. The "sounds like another brand" descriptions are usually remote at best.

I found the parts, took a while for R4 and C2. Those are in one of the tone stacks, lower left. R122 is a feedback resistor in a gain stage upper right. R116 is the cathode resistor of that stage.
          Attached Files
          Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

Originally posted by rednax View Post
            Remove R122 (no jumper needed).
            Leave R124 in place (Don't touch it).
            R116 to 10k (Wattage don't matter here).(10K has more gain, 22K has less... tightness of tone depends on EQ and setup)

C2 to 470pF