Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cathode follower w/ coupling cap

Happy New year everybody!

In the last stage of my preamp, I've got a 12ax7 cathode follower with a 100k cathode resistor, like on a marshall. But I'm not following it with the usual tone stack, but with just a coupling capacitor coming off the cathode resistor/cathode junction. My question is in regard to what's a reasonable value for the coupling cap - how do you calculate the -3 db point for this arrangement? There's going to be a 500k load resistor after the cap.

I'm thinking that you would use the: Cuttoff frequency = 1 / 2*pi(RC) formula, but I don't know what value to plug in for R

Thanks,
    Russ

I'm no expert, but I believe that the "R" value that you need is the 100K cathode resistor in paralel with the 500 K load resistor after the coupling cap.

R = 100K || 500K = 1/(1/100K+1/500K)) = 83 K

Good luck!

Chip

Comment

The R value should be the load, 500k. Strictly speaking you should add the output impedance of the cathode follower to this, but because it's such a low value (less than 1k) there's no point.

Comment

Yes, I guess what I need for R is the output impedance of the CF. Does anyone know what this is, or better yet, how is it calculated?

Comment

I checked it in PSPICE and, yes, MerlinB is correct...the corner frequency due to the coupling cap is set by the 500K resistor. The cathode resistor has no effect.

Cool. I learned something.

Chip

Comment

No formula's (typo?) needed imho, just use your ears

Not knowing about the used circuit/voltages/transformers: just start with a 0.002 to 0.02uF couplingcap and it's fine in most circuits.
            Love, peace & loudness,
            Chris
            http://www.CMWamps.com

Comment

Hi Russ,

From the formula on Randall Aiken's site (also RDHB), the impedance looking into the cathode of a triode is found by the formula:

Rk' = (Rp+ra)/(mu+1)
              where:
              Rp=plate resistor