Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need a little insight about a fender prosonic

Hello,

This is only my second post on this forum, the last time was because I had a problem with a new Gibson GA40 RVT amp. Although nobody answered my question directly, the breadth of knowledge on this forum was awesome and eventually allowed me to find and fix the problem I was having. Thank you very much for all of the contributions and indirect help!

Today I have a question about the Fender Prosonic. I was looking at the schematic the other day and couldn't quite figure out what the gain stage before the effects loop is for. Specifically: Is this stage meant to act as recovery for the tone stack or is it meant to help push the signal through the loop? Maybe both?

I am not an expert by any means, but would like to look at maybe making an amp that is based on the clean channel of the Prosonic but at the wattage of a Deluxe Reverb. I know it will never be exact but I like the lack of nfb, the switchable rectification and that fact that the tonestack comes after the second gain stage like a Vibro-King but isn't a cathode follower like a tweed bassman.

Any insight into the purpose of the gain stage before the effects loop and insight into why this may or may not be such a great idea would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Mike
    Attached Files

Its a cathode follower and its there to drive the loop with a low- impedance signal (so you get a good clear signal to the FX). It doesn't have any effect on gain, because it doesn't have any gain.
    Building a better world (one tube amp at a time)

"I have never had to invoke a formula to fight oscillation in a guitar amp."- Enzo

Comment

Like he said.

I've noticed that if I run a high level effects output that impedance becomes more of an issue than with low level effects outputs. The Prosonic effects loop has a lot of gain so Bruce Zinky used a cathode follower to lower the impedance.