Fender AB763 Style Optocoupled Tremolo Circuit Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fender AB763 Style Optocoupled Tremolo Circuit Question

Hey guys, I'm an amp builder that primarily deals with Marshall stuff. I've done a Fender AB763 circuit once, but don't have LOTS of experience with them.

I have a couple of questions regarding the LDR coupled tremolo circuit in the AB763 Twin Reverb amp.

1) In regards to the 10M plate resistor in the lamp driver circuit that the LDR/100K resistor hooks up across, would it be OK to use another high value such as a 2.2M or a 3.3M, or would that bypass too much current and lower the voltage drop across it too low to fire the neon lamp?

2) In regards to the speed & intensity pots in the oscillator circuit, what is the reason for the circuit calling for a reverse audio taper pot? Is it absolutely critical that these be a RA taper? How will the trem circuit respond if one were to use regular audio taper pots?

3) Would it be OK to use a 250K pot in place of the normal 50K Intensity pot?

Any input on this would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by Wilder Amplification; 11-15-2009, 01:13 AM.
    Jon Wilder
    Wilder Amplification

Originally posted by m-fine
    I don't know about you, but I find it a LOT easier to change a capacitor than to actually learn how to play well
    Originally posted by JoeM
    I doubt if any of my favorite players even own a soldering iron.

1) I'm pretty sure the 10M just insures the Neon bulb will go off and leakage currents won't keep the neon lit. It's a function of the neon bulb's characteristics and how the drive tube is biased.

2) The RA pot just gives an even sweep across the pot's rotation. Use a linear pot or hook an audio pot up backwards so that is '0' is max frequency, '10' is the slow frequency.

3) Depending on the resistance range of the LDR, a 250K pot might only be usefull between 8 and 10.