Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help - PA Amp for guitar - increasing output?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help - PA Amp for guitar - increasing output?

Hi - first post here, and yes, I'm a newbie to tube amp design (trying to learn, though).

I have an old (1946) PA amplifier that I've converted for guitar use. Basically, I've changed the original microphone input to a more standard "Fenderish" input and I've replaced the caps. It's a 6L6 Push-Pull class A design, with a 70V output transformer and then a step-down transformer for the speaker. The input tubes are octals (6J7 then 6N7). I don't think I'm getting full power out of the output stage. I'm considering changing the two output transformers to a Hammond 1620 (6k6 primary impedance, 20W). Should this (potentially) increase my output? I'm assuming that the old transformers are not as efficient as a new one.

I'm also wondering if the input stage is not driving the output tubes hard enough. As I'm a newbie, I don't know how to figure this out, exactly. Any advice would be appreciated.

I've attached the schematic showing my modifications (grayed-out) in case that might help.

Thanks,

Don
    Attached Files

Ya could try dis! http://music-electronics-forum.com/showthread.php?t=354

Comment

In the schematic you attached the PI is a transformer coupled circuit.It has less gain than a typical modern tube PI.I would scrap it for a tube.I would also change that 70v transformer for one that couples your 6l6's directly to a 4,8 or 16 ohm speaker.

Comment

Originally posted by stokes View Post
        In the schematic you attached the PI is a transformer coupled circuit.It has less gain than a typical modern tube PI.I would scrap it for a tube.I would also change that 70v transformer for one that couples your 6l6's directly to a 4,8 or 16 ohm speaker.