Substituting power supply for B+

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Substituting power supply for B+

I have a project I'm working on that I need to lower the B+ to the plates. I have not decided exactly where I want it yet, and would like to unhook the B+ taps from the PT, and hook up a supply from a DC power supply.
    What I'm wondering is, if I disconnect the B+ from the PT, but continue to use the heater taps, will this A) cause any damage to the PT from not having a load on the B+ windings?
    and B) Cause the heater winding voltage or the bias tap to go up since a large part of the load has been removed? There is a 6.3v (4A) tap on the power supply so I could use this if I need to, but since I'd still be using the PT for the bias tap....

Seems to me like it should be fine, but I wanted to be sure since I've never done it before.

Also, any reason I should not use an old tube power supply to feed the B+? (I mean, that is what they are for, correct?!!)

Thanks as always for answering my stupid questions as I learn...

Unloading the B+ will be fine for the transformer, but will need to pay attention to the bias supply if it derived from the plate supply, ie you need to make sure that you still have a bias supply when you disconnect the B+!

As you as interferring with the B+ you will need to be fairly caution.

I have an old Heathkit valve power supply which I use sometimes, which will run a 30W amp fine. It was obviously designed for this purpose as it not only has a vaiable regulated B+ supply, it also has an adjustable C- (bias!), and 6.3 VAC and 12.6 VAC filament taps.

Comment

The bias is derived from a separate tap on the PT. If I recall, these are usually a portion of the B+ and I would need to leave the center tap hooked to ground.