My first 2-channel amp - Please comment

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My first 2-channel amp - Please comment

This is my first attempt at a two-channel amp, and I'd love to get any input before diving into the building process. One of my concerns is whether or not I 'need' the second gain control before the master volumes for the dirty channel. Thanks a lot for looking!

http://i56.tinypic.com/2e4xdzb.jpg

It's just my own personal preference but I wouldn't want a gain stage after the dirty channel tone stack. I think the the gain channel will be better off without it.

You might take a look for a bogner shiva schematic- that seems to be the sonic territory you're headed toward.

Is your design based on the Kevin O'Conner design? I feel like I've seen something like this before. I've said this before but never tried it- if I were building a design along those lines I think I'd use the first half of a 12ax7 as the input tube and clean channel and the second 12ax7 as the dirty channel then funnel both into a mosfet source follower as a low-level effect loop output (with no additional gain before the loop). This would leave half a 12ax7 as gain recovery on the return side of the loop to drive the phase inverter. I know the dirty channel would have more than enough gain but I'm not sure about the clean side- I investigated lower loss tone stacks when I played with the idea. With this sort of arrangement your channel volumes become "send" level volumes and the master volume after the loop becomes the main volume control.

Have you considered a loop? I find I always like delay and chorus better post-distortion.

Those minor concerns aside, I think it looks like a solid design and I'd like to hear it.

jamie

Comment

Thanks for the input, Jamie. The design is inspired by a preamp found in the Garnet book, which is again, inspired by KOC's design.