Power resistor/sag switch..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Power resistor/sag switch..

I'm new to amp electronics but have been learning a lot in the last few months and have a few ideas I'd like to try on my amps. They are modern voiced 50W push pull PCB based amps with solid state bridge rectifiers and I'd like to put in a power reduction/sag resistors with a switch (to go back and forth) in the power supply. I'd like to reduce B+ by 50V or more as well as reduce the response/general feel of the amp to be saggier and more vintage like. Similar to imitating the response of a tube recitifier. But also reducing the voltage in general and also reducing the wattage output of the tubes. Sort of like a half power switch.

Since the amps are PCB based, it'd be hard (and more risky for someone new at this like me) to go cutting traces or bridging off of the PCB board, I'd prefer to do this before the rectifier with the crimp wires rather than on the PCB. Trying to go between the rectifier and first cap would be much more complicated and harder to reverse.

So instead of going out of the standby switch into the rectifier, I want to go from the standby switch into the resistor and then into the PCB and rectifier. So..

------------

PT secondary > standby switch > resistor (with bypass switch) > rectifier > 1st two filter caps

instead of

PT secondary > standby switch > rectifier > 1st two filter caps

------------

There are obviously two taps coming out of the PT secondary and going into the standby switch and into the rectifier, so I'd need to do all of this twice. That'd mean two resistors, two switches etc. The resistors I want to use are 25W wirewound 50, 100 or 200 ohm. With the resistors bolted to the chassis to dissipate heat, with a small PC fan exhausting air through the top of the cabinet box.