off the wall question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• off the wall question

I know nearly nothing about guitar amps. That being said, I work in a factory. I tried buying a job site boombox, but it was too quiet. Someone recommended that I pick up a portable amp with an aux in to plug my phone into to be able to listen to music. I looked at amps a bit, but have no clue as to what I need, what would be loud enough, or what is overkill. If anyone could help a poor stir-crazy from no music worker out, it would be very appreciated. Suggestions as to what to look for, what wattage would be appropriate, or point me at an amp that should work, and I'll love you forever, or at least say nice stuff about you! Thanks in advance!

If you go into any "Good Guys" or "Best Buy" type place they'll be happy to show you a butt load of stuff you can plug your phone into to generate audio. That said... I know DeWalt and Makita both make job site boom boxes that run on their standard power tool batteries. I'd be VERY surprised if the current models didn't have an iPhone interface. That said... They do make phone music power modules that you simply set your phone into (Best Buy/Good Guys again). I'm a painting contractor and one of my coworkers just puts his phone into a 2 gallon plastic bucket set on it's side. It doesn't sound like all that but it does improve the bass and focus the sound. YMMV.
    "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo

"Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

"If you're not interested in opinions and the experience of others, why even start a thread?
    You can't just expect consent." Helmholtz

Comment

Appreciate the reply! I tried one of those, but the factory is VERY loud, and I had the boom box about 3 feet away from me, and at max volume, and couldn't hear the music worth a crap.

Comment

Originally posted by Druke View Post