Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amp Project - About to Begin Build

Hi guys,

After months of pouring over ideas from TAG, EL34World, and here, and reading Merlin's excellent book many times, I've put together a design for a 40W 2x6L6GC amp that has an effect loop and mixer (a la Merlin), tube driven reverb (a la Channel Road), and an EQ from Dumble amplifiers, except with the master volume moved out of the EQ and placed between V1A and V1B. I'd like this amp to be mostly clean, but break up when you dig into a note.

I've attached the schematic. This is my first build, so I'd like to know if anyone can spot any glaring problems with the design.

I, for one, am concerned that I might just have too many gain stages (for a clean amp). V1A and V1B are series gain stages with a volume knob in the middle, and I'm not sure how lossy the EQ will be, so I might be sending quite a large signal to the FX send and dry channel of the mixer - enough to overdrive it even at low volume. If that's the case, I might be overdriving the input of my PI and the input of my tube reverb driver (which has about 4Vpp of clean headroom). My options would be to change the pre volume to a dual taper pot and put the second pot after the EQ to attenuate even further, or drop the gain of V1A and V1B by either switching them out for a 12AU7 or using local NFB like a Dumble.

Food for thought. I appreciate all of the fantastic work that goes on on this site, and I want to get the input of some of the experts here before I move forward with the build.

Thanks in advance for your time and advice.

Dave
    Attached Files

I don't get the tone stack. It looks like a variation on the Dumble stack, but the differences might make it less effective as a tone stack and more like some alternative voicing control.

The treble mid boost bypass value seems large and will probably pass too much LF.