Clipping diodes?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clipping diodes?

Check out D101 and D102 next to V2 in the attached image - are these clipping diodes? The amp is a Peavey Valveking.

Sorry - image was too big. Check it out herehttp://www.blueguitar.org/new/schem/...veking_112.pdf

Page 9

Comment

No, they are noise reduction diodes.

Note they are shorted across by the relay or switch in certain settings. The high gain channel is noisier, so they are switched in. But on the clean channel, noise is less an issue and they are shorted across.

In any case they can't clip the signal there.

CLipping diodes would typically be from signal to ground, not series like these.
      Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

I see. I'm an amateur hobbyist (if that), so I don't really know much about these things. I just recognized something similar when I was working on a Tube Screamer once. I really appreciate everything I learn from everyone on this board, though.

Another thing - can anyone suggest a good way to learn a few things about electronics, perhaps a book? Classes are a little out of the question right now, since I'm already taking classes in another field. What kind of credentials are needed to work as an amp tech, or just to work in a repair shop in any way? I'm really interested in tube electronics and guitar-related work.

Comment