Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Beginners tips and advice on new design..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginners tips and advice on new design..

Sorry if this is posted on the wrong topic forum. but here it goes..

I'm an extreme beginner with amp building but I know what sound I want to achieve in my head.
    How would I go about building a Push-pull 20 watt with dual 6L6 power section
    As for features I want these...
    Volume,Gain,Tone,Shape(the way the gain clips) and Presence.
    I mainly want to build a lead tone amp for "me". I've played COUNTless amps and set-ups and none of them please me as "my" lead tone amp wise.
    (bogner,matchless,Diezel,Vox,marshall,blah blah blah... and endless pedal set-ups)
    None of the leads "sing" they dont have enough sustain and the overdrive doesent clip the way I want.
    This probably sounds very amatuer but I gata start somewhere.

Would I need to "steal" some circuit designs from my favorite amps?
    (bogner,matchless,Diezel,Vox)

I also purchased the P1eXtreme kit and about 200$ worth of books as well as college classes on tube amplifier design. HELP A BROTHA OUT! Thanks guys!!

-Kyle www.myspace.com/kyleroop

Originally posted by Feel_My_Twang View Post
    Would I need to "steal" some circuit designs from my favorite amps? (bogner,matchless,Diezel,Vox)
    More than likely.

Who's tone comes closest to what you're after? 2112-era Lifeson? Phenomenon-era Schenker? Abraxas-era Santana? Fillmore-era Betts?

Comment