Some “seriously beginner grade” questions regarding resistors

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Some “seriously beginner grade” questions regarding resistors

Like the kind someone is afraid to ask in fear of being thought as a dumbass.

I’ve been building amps on and off for almost 20 years (yikes!). Over the last few years I have been learning a lot of the way things actually work (before that it was all based on layout files), but I am severely plagued by a few tidbits of basic info that I think I might understand, but something tells me there's more to the whole picture than meets the eye.

This is in regards to resistors. Any reference to circuit in amplifier, I will use the JTM45 as my reference of choice.

When first learning of resistors, some offer the analogy of a “hole in the dam” or “the size of a water pipe” etc. Others talk of resistors as “slowing down the movement”. So going with these analogies, how, or why, does changing the channel mixer resistors (again in the JTM45) from 270k to 470k supposedly increase gain to the second stage?

Another spot is the plate resistor… increasing the resistance increases the gain also - I just can’t grasp that… because… I fully assume that resistors lessen the flow of current and voltage. So obviously there are some super duper basics that I just can’t seem to grasp.

One resistor that makes sense to me is a resistor to drop voltage off of the secondary for a bias supply.

Thanks you, as always, for your time!

"'He who first proclaims to have golden ears is the only one in the argument who can truly have golden ears.' The opponent, therefore, must, by the rules, have tin ears, since there can only be one golden-eared person per argument." - Randall Aiken

Originally posted by Gtr0 View Post