Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• One Box Wet/Dry

Hey Guys,
    I'm pretty new to this game and have been soaking up as much info as possible, but some things are still escaping me. I have a dream of building a single head and single 4x12 cabinet for a wet/dry rig. I was thinking 50W/ish total output with the head having 2 complete amps (something like a Hiwatt or similar high clean headroom amp for the wet signal and a JCM800ish dirty amp for the dry signal) feeding into a 4x12 cabinet with 2 isolated 2x12 speaker sets. Is it possible to blend two preamps into one power section and still get the wet/dry sound or do I need separate power amps for each? I do not intend to overdrive the power amp tubes, all "dirt" would be coming from the preamp.
    I've been playing through 2 amps for a while and have loved the sound, but it's getting to be a PITA, not only because they're both obscenely loud (210W power between them) but also because of all the power cords, a-b-y box, tons of cables, etc.
    ​​​​​At this point I'd rather lift a 100lb head than a lug a head, cab AND combo along with my other gear. I also figured I could save a little money on transformers (even if I need to have a custom PT made) by having the same power supply/rectification/chokes feeding both amps.
    Has anyone done a DIY build like this here? Does anyone have tips?
    Thanks for Reading!

If you want 2 completely separate amps driving 2 separate loads, you will need two separate power amps. Basically it will be two complete guitar amps in one chassis. That said, it shouldn't be necessary. Just drive a traditionally wired 4x12 or 2x12 cabinet with one amp and design two preamps that you like driving the same amplifier. Then, add channel switching. If you're building it, you could have, for instance, a Fender style preamp for clean and a Marshall design for the dirty channel. It would be less weight, less wiring hassle, fewer mics if you're micing, etc.