Garnet Amp Question?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Garnet Amp Question?

Hello I have been playing guitar for only a few years. The other day I was at the recyle depot and this older feller was pulling this amp from his trunk. Of course I asked him, hey does that work? He went into the life history of his son who well, anyway he was not shure weather it worked or no so I took the amp. Unfortunitly when I plugged it in it didn't work. I checked the fuse and it was ok so my question is, is it worth finding out weather or not it is worth fixing? The model is a Garnet (piper) from me checking the serial # on the Garnet web site. Are these amps worth the effort of spending a little money to get checked out? I don't know anything about electronics of this type anyway so I wonder if somone can help me.

Is it a tube amp or a solid state amp? Could you post a picture? Also speaker size, type of speaker, etc.

Comment

Garnet apparently used the Piper name on a few varieties of amps including a good all tube, a vocal mixer and a stencil amp. If it is the all tube one with a power transformer then it is definitely worth fixing. Garnet made some of the best sounding amps in North America. I have a couple of them and they get used regularly. Gar made them amazingly loud for the configurations he used.
      If it is a solid state or a three tube stencil with no power transformer (Garnet made lots of those too) then I wouldn't put much effort into it.

Comment

Sorry it took so long