Danelectro DM 25 Reverb problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Danelectro DM 25 Reverb problems

I recently got a Danelectro DM 25 amp in really nice shape. It sounds good and the tremolo works great.
    There is just the slightest bit of hum and I am waiting for new electrolytics to arrive in the mail.
    The only problems with it have to do with the reverb. Now I know Dano reverbs aren't anything Dick Dale would like, but it barely seems to work. I have never worked on a reverb before, other than accidentally getting one in my Teisco Checkmate 50 going, so I will proceed carefully. I am also waiting for a couple of NOS reverb driver tubes to see if that will help.
    The biggest problem is, with the head sitting on the speaker cab, the reverb just wants to howl. Sort of like feedback but one steady note that disappears when you turn the reverb knob right down or hit the footswitch.
    This howl is there whether a guitar is plugged in or not, or whether the driver tube is in or not. Put the head away from the cab and no howl, not much reverb either. The reverb does crash nicely when you bump the head so something is working.
    Does anyone have any suggestions on what to look at to get this howling to stop, and also what to check if a new tube doesn't beef up the reverb.

Spring reverb or electronic reverb?

Comment

Strictly spring reverb in a 60s Danelectro.

Comment

I'm sure swapping out tubes first is the way to start...

Does the DM25 have the weird piezo element tanks, like some of the Silvertones? I've heard of at least one attempt to replace those elements with cheapo piezo disks.

Obviously, it could be other stuff in the signal path, regardless.

The reverb on those isn't subtle. Personally, I like the option of swampy, "garagey" reverb at times... I have a DM10--no reverb, but love it. Always wanted a DM25, too.

Comment

No it has spring reverb, you can hear it quite clearly if you bump it.