Finding vintage amps?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finding vintage amps?

I don't know if this is the right place to ask, but I am looking for vintage amps to tinker with, no matter the condition. Other than the obvious online market places (ebay, craigs, facebook, etc), what other kinds of places have you guys seen or found hidden treasures? Yard sales, Goodwill, estate sales, etc.

I am just curious where the more experienced here have come across amps out in the wild.

I think it depends a bit depending on your location and what price point you are looking at. I would say if you are expecting to find an original tweed amp for $50 that isn't going to happen anywhere.. In my experience most people overvalue old amps rather than undervalue. I've been fixing and flipping amps for about six years now. Portland is an OK area for finding broken gear because we have a lot of broke musicians and not many people who fix amps anyway. For me usually it is obsessively watching CL, FB marketplace, and the national online sites and hoping to catch something before anyone else does. I'm lucky that my schedule is pretty flexible so I can see the ad, respond, and get there before most others. Always have a few hundred in cash on hand for quick deals. I've had a little luck going to pawn shops or music stores and asking if they have any amps that aren't working right that they want to get out of their storage area. When I sell something I usually include that I am open to taking project gear on trade and I've gotten some good stuff that way. I've run ads looking for project gear, sometimes that works, often not (see: people overvalue broken amps).

edit: be careful you don't get better at finding amps than you are at fixing and selling them. I've got about 25 of my own amps in my repair queue right now in addition to 10 "personal" amps.
    Last edited by glebert; 03-03-2023, 05:57 PM.

Comment