Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sonny JR (I / II) amps

Hi !
    Since the Sonny JR I + II no longer are made and really hard to get (well sometimes they are on Ebay – but no one seems to be willing to send them to Europe), I was wondering if anybody had the schematics or concept of the amp. I’ve seen some pictures (not close enough though), and they look kind if simple (well less is often more) – just what I like.

Thanks
    Morten

You mean this one?

http://home.earthlink.net/~kb0tj/PHOTOS/sj-8in-spkr.jpg

There is really nothing to them if you know what a tweed Super 5C4 type amp is.
    Bruce

Mission Amps
    Denver, CO. 80022
    www.missionamps.com
    303-955-2412

Comment

Thank you Bruce !

Thank you Bruce !
      I was actually in doubt if I was to bold to ask for this ! Well I know assume that it’s OK. A few questions though ! I’m a musician and not a technician. My amp work is done by looking at the layouts and having a little understanding for the different values (caps etc.). So I get confused when looking at this octal preamp layout (http://www.ampwares.com/ffg/schem/super_5c4_layout.gif )– sorry ! Also there is a few resistors over the OP tubes. Could you help me with these questions ?

Thanks !
      Morten

Comment

Originally posted by Bruce / Mission Amps View Post
        You mean this one?

http://home.earthlink.net/~kb0tj/PHOTOS/sj-8in-spkr.jpg

There is really nothing to them if you know what a tweed Super 5C4 type amp is.
        The SJ 410 must be a Bassman clone, i compared the pics on Sonny's website with the Bassman layout, it fits 100 %. I'm in doubt wether the paper in oil caps would make such a big difference to other good quality caps, eventually it's a matter of the speakers. I've seen extremely good harp amps losing their mojo after a speaker swap.

cu,
        Ralf

Comment