Peavey XR684 turn on/off thump.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Peavey XR684 turn on/off thump.

Hi all ... first post here .... I've had a good look over the forum and seems like I'm in the right place ...

I have an old XR684 domestic version with the jack outputs and bridge mode that wasn't working on the right channel ... that has now been fixed by replacing U202.

The remaining problem is very dramatic thump when turning the unit on and off.

I am a sound engineer and did basic electronics when I was training back in the 90's so can get around a schematic and have a scope, signal generator, good multimeter etc. that I usually use for gain structure calibration etc. in audio systems.

I'm not good at circuit fault diagnosis and some component testing methods ... I have the schematic here (400sc) and looking over it I can see components that I think maybe involved such as transistors Q105, Q205 but on other amps I have here there are delayed relays that are a lot more obvious so I wonder if I'm barking up the wrong tree.

XR684 power amp.pdf

If anybody can help point me in the right direction it will be well appreciated ...

Hmmm tried to upload the diagram ... but seems to have turned into "clear.gif" ...

I'll try again ... XR684 power amp.pdf

Comment

The schematic needs to be put in a zip file or something altered from the original. Problem is the database got screwed years ago leaving some downloads defunct. Courtesy of member G1 here is that downloaded file.
      http://music-electronics-forum.com/a...-schematic.zip
      When the going gets weird... The weird turn pro!

Comment

Thanks ... I'll maybe get some help now ...

Comment

Looking at the schematic, I can see a few circuits where the signal is 'muted'.

I would start there.

Comment

Originally posted by Jazz P Bass View Post
            a few circuits where the signal is 'muted'.