Strat 500 weak distorted channel B

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Strat 500 weak distorted channel B

Hi guys, semi noob here (well maybe super noob whatever)

Have a strategy 500 power amp. Channel B is weak / distorted / almost no bass. Here is what I checked so far:
    -Track 2 or track 1 functions the same and they switch ok
    -Switched all power and preamp tubes from CH1 to Ch2, didnt change any symptom at all.
    -Checked and double checked all speaker connections and tried the 4 ohm and 8 ohm taps with diff speakers/cables
    Preamp:
    -Checked preamp Plate voltages (all high 200's VDC)
    -Checked preamp cathode voltages (all ~1-3VDC)
    -Checked coupling caps (grids on all preamp tubes 0VDC while pre-cap it is high 200's from plate)
    -visually looked for cold solder etc.. didn't see anything
    Power amp:
    -checked bias supply for push/pull/cha/chb all around -54VDC
    -all plate volts high DC

And finally last night i busted out the oscilloscope and was comparing waveforms on the preamp grids. I found that pin 2 of tube 1 on the channel B has a super distorted / wanky waveform whereas channel A on that preamp tube pin has a sine wave (200HZ input.)
    Click image for larger version

Name:	Strategy 400_Markup.png
Views:	1
Size:	109.1 KB
ID:	870583
    I am leaning towards removing the tubes and checking this again to see if the measurements are affected. Also It appears that the feedback loop is connected to this pin so I am slightly skeptical of that area of the circuit. All I got is a strategy 400 schematic which seems to be accurate in that area around the preamp tubes at least.

Any troubleshooting tips from some pros?
    Strategy 400 Prelim Schematic.pdf