Keyboard amp for Voice and Fiddle?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Keyboard amp for Voice and Fiddle?

I'm new to setting up for amplification, so please bear with me.

I have an ElectroVoice Raven microphone . . .

and a ART Tube MP Studio Mic Preamp.

Right now, it's going into a small Crate Keyboard amp, the KBA 10.

(Some of you might recognize that this isn't exactly the old KBA 10, but close.)

I'd like to improve this setup for voice and fiddle, since I'm not entirely pleased with the sounds coming out. It's loud enough for our small studio, but it sounds a bit harsh at times, and less full than what we want.

Does anyone here know if the Crate KB10 is made for a pre-amped signal or not? When the mic goes in direct, it lacks even more fullness.
    Last edited by Rigormortis; 12-15-2007, 09:27 PM.

You probably just need a bigger amp than the free-gift-in-a-cereal-packet KBA10. It'll be sounding harsh because you need to overdrive it to make the required volume.

If your band has a drummer, even a quiet jazz one, I'd be looking for something with at least 100W, and a 12" speaker with a horn tweeter.

If the KBA10 was sold as a keyboard amp, then it should be happy with a line-level (what you called "pre-amped") signal.
    "Enzo, I see that you replied parasitic oscillations. Is that a hypothesis? Or is that your amazing metal band I should check out?"

Comment

Originally posted by Steve Conner View Post
      You probably just need a bigger amp than the free-gift-in-a-cereal-packet KBA10.
      :lol:

Are there amps made especially for vocals you could recommend? We're all playing either acoustically or through small amps. I have a Traynor 20 for my guitar. The drummer has an electronic kit and an amp about the same size as the KBA 10. We're making the transition from acoustic to amped.

Comment

You might look into an "acoustic amp" that most brands of guitar amp now also make.